Not me.  I could give a fig about the Best Dressed, Worst Dressed, Least Dressed, yadda yadda List celebrity parade of overdressed, overpaid, overexposed self-important “actors” that gathered together for a big group pat on the back for all of their “hard work” and wonderful acting skills.  Heidi Klum getting dropped on her bony ass would have been a highlight for me though.

How do these people sleep at night knowing that the other 99% of the world is concerned about gas prices, the 2008 election, the upcoming home heating season, back-to-school expenses, Katrina, Gustav, Ike, job stability, and a thousand other things that have nothing to do with Armani dresses and ridiculously expensive designer diamonds (I just had a flashback to Cindy McCain in Oscar de la Renta, dripping with diamonds).

I predict that the ongoing decaying economy will have one of two effects on our ever-present celebrity fascination.  1.) Our society’s Hollywood obsession will tank like a Paris Hilton movie as a good portion of Americans struggle to feed and house our families.  Or, 2.) Our appetites will be increasingly voracious for more and more escapist stories on how that 1% lives.  

What do you think?

PS – I just received MORE magazine in the mail today and Michelle Obama is on the cover.  Can’t wait to read the story because, to me, she is fascinating.  If she were running for President, she’d get my vote.  Maybe this counts as a celebrity obsession?  Whatever.  I like her.

