Lately I’ve been thinking of ways to diversify my online business beyond eBay and Amazon.  I have my own website that I do next to nothing with due to time constraints and I sell on five other sites that provide some extra sales in addition to the “Big Two”  – eBay and Amazon.  With eBay ripe for competition, there are other sites that seem to have survived a while so I took the time this week to jump in.

Not long ago I had looked into two new sites, eCrater.com and Bonanzle.com, but didn’t have the time to peruse yet another site that wants to take on dissatisfied eBay sellers (there are many) and I assumed that there was minimal traffic to these sites anyway. 

Maybe I was wrong.   I have spent the better part of the last two days setting up webstores at each site (they’re free) and have yet to get sales there.  It’s a tad early for that probably, but after having looked in detail at each site, I have to say that I’m impressed with their visions.

Bonanzle was a very easy set up that allowed me to load my listings from eBay without too much effort.  It rounded each dollar amount up to the nearest dollar and loaded my photos perfectly.  It has a Facebook kind of look to it and was extremely easy to use.  It also took my feedback from eBay and transferred it over to my Bonanzle webstore.  Wow!  Free and easy.

eCrater was only more difficult because I had to add each item myself.  I took the items that I have multiple quantities of, and could very quickly list items by cutting and pasting from my original listings.

These two sites have their work cut out for them but they are definitely on the right track.  They remind me (especially Bonanzle) of the way that eBayers still talk about the early days of eBay.    It was fun, easy, profitable for both sides, and customers got great deals.  Not so much fun for all 3 parties these days.  Ebay’s greed is notorious and they have recently changed their selling rules so frequently that it’s hard to keep up.  Many changes were  not seller friendly either.

Check out my new webstores if you get a minute.

Links:

http://www.bonanzle.com/booths/booksaroundtheclock

and

http://booksaroundtheclock.ecrater.com/

Any helpful feedback would be appreciated.

