I was in Best Buy doing Christmas shopping for everyone else when what to my wondering eyes appeared… Cool new cell phones!  Now just so you don’t assume that I’m a techie,  I will say right now that my current cell phone was a dinosaur – at least SEVEN years old and a pre-paid phone to boot.  I’m not a heavy cell phone user but gotta have one right? 

Staring back at me were new and funky prepaid Verizon phones that were actually cheaper to use than my current phone and were also internet-enabled and had a full QWERTY keyboard too.  Were they $297 like the iPhone that I could never justify having?  Nope.  The Verizon Blitz with the full keyboard and neat color screen and camera too was $79 and it was easy (for the clerk not me LOL ) to transfer my existing phone number to the new phone.

I’ve now had the Blitz over a week and have used the camera phone (on Christmas Eve) and have actually text messaged too.  This may not seem earth-shattering to someone out there that constantly uses their phone for text  messaging but for this 40-something non-techie with friends and a spouse who are even more non-technologically sophisticated than I am, this is big.

This phone is very easy to use, extremely economical to own.  In a few weeks I will be going back to Best Buy to purchase a one year prepaid card for $100 so the phone will get extra minutes and more importantly activation for one year.   This will end up costing me less than my dino-phone charges.

I have read reviews that state this phone is ugly and looks like a toy.  I disagree.  The slideout keyboard is quite easy to use since I have small hands and fingers.  Someone with large hands would have difficulty typing on these small keys.  Most phones would probably fall into that category though.

Quirks of this phone include having to unlock the keypad —  a lot.  Not really sure why it asks the user to hit “OK” so frequently to unlock the pad, but it seems like overkill.  Another feature that is sort of strange is that you must end the call or internet use by hitting the stop button.  Sliding the phone shut will not end the call.  Not huge drawbacks but they are worth mentioning here.

I’d love to hear your comments on the Verizon Blitz.

