I decided last week that I need to detach myself from my laptop for a full 24 hours at least once a week.  What better day than Sunday – the day that ‘I can’t ship even if I wanted to’ day. 

So yesterday I did not check my emails, answer questions, review my sales, or play on Facebook (ok I finally signed on at 8 PM but it was really 24 hours and not a complete day…)   I can easily ignore Twitter these days since I now have over 800 followers and get completely overwhelmed there with the constant sales pitches or internet Twitter hooker propositions.  Seriously.  Why don’t they just go away?

So yesterday I read the Sunday paper in the sun – got sunburned but as a red-headed, fair-skinned, freckled person I really should know better.  The burn didn’t carry over until today so it wasn’t so bad. 

I did yardwork.  The weed whacker was dead or wasn’t charged so I used hedge clippers.  Had rubber band arms all day long after that.  I really do need to exercise more if a pair of clippers got the best of me.

The best part was the nature walk that hubby and I took at the end of the afternoon.  I remembered to bring my camera this time.

We saw ducks swimming in the marsh.
We saw ducks swimming in the marsh.

 

I took lots of wetland photos.  See the birdhouse?
I took lots of wetland photos. See the birdhouse?

 

It was serene.
It was serene.

 

But it wasn't quiet. If it's nature it doesn't seem like noise.
But it wasn’t quiet. If it’s nature it doesn’t seem like noise.

 

We saw a lot of this.

We saw a lot of this.

 

And lots of these.

And lots of these.

 

The forest area was dark and buggy.

The forest area was dark and buggy.

 

That's why we stayed here.  On the mostly empty trail.

That's why we stayed here. On the mostly empty trail.

 

After a while we could've used this.

After a while we could've used this.

But we used this instead and kept going.

But we used this instead and kept going.

 

 

I saw a snake in front of this rock the day before. Not today.

A snake showed up here the day before. Not today.

 

 
This bird did though.  He had a lot to say.

This bird did though. He had a lot to say.

When was the last time you detached yourself from the e-world?  Was it as difficult for you as it was for me?  I admit that by 8 PM I was really jones-ing for some computer time.  And I needed something to do to keep me awake! 

Next Sunday I’ll be trying this internet-free thing again.  It was enlightening to see how this laptop in front of me has been overtaking some quality time that I could be spending with others or even by myself.  Moderation?  Not sure if one day off qualifies for moderation, but that’s what I’m willing to do right now.  Maybe it will make Mondays a bit nicer too.  🙂